Brooks Koepka edges Rory McIlroy for GWAA Player of the Year honors

Brooks Koepka edged Rory McIlroy in a decent race for 2019 PGA Tour Participant of the 12 months honors as voted on by members of the Golf Writers Affiliation of America.

McIlroy beat Koepka for a similar honor by an undisclosed vote complete from his PGA Tour friends again in September, however on this vote the nod went to the present world No. 1 as Koepka obtained 44 p.c of the votes towards McIlroy’s 36 p.c, with Masters champ Tiger Woods ending third.

Whereas the Tour’s vote encompassed the 2018-19 season, throughout which each Koepka and McIlroy received thrice, the GWAA vote was for the calendar yr of 2019 when McIlroy received 4 occasions to Koepka’s two victories. However certainly one of Koepka’s wins got here on the PGA Championship, and he compiled a historic run within the majors by ending T-Four or higher in all 4 occasions. He turns into the primary participant to win the GWAA Participant of the 12 months award in consecutive seasons since Woods received three in a row from 2005-07.

After profitable 4 occasions together with two majors, Jin Younger Ko was a runaway winner for LPGA tour Participant of the 12 months honors over Nelly Korda, whereas Charles Schwab Cup champ Scott McCarron edged Steve Stricker for the award on the PGA Tour Champions. All three winners will obtain their awards on the GWAA’s annual dinner in Augusta, Ga., on the eve of the opening spherical of the Masters.

Source link