De Ferran, Guthrie, Page in 2020 IMS Hall of Fame ballot

Ballots for the 2020 IMS Corridor of Fame class have been mailed to the choice committee, which includes greater than 140 distinguished media and racing officers. The 2020 IMS Corridor of Fame class will probably be introduced the morning of Friday, February 14 – the “100 Days Out” milestone main as much as the 104th Indianapolis 500 offered by Gainbridge. The inductees will then be honored on the annual IMS Corridor of Fame Induction Ceremony/Indianapolis 500 Oldtimers Membership banquet on Thursday, Might 21. 

De Ferran, now sporting director at McLaren, gained the CART Indy automobile title for Crew Penske in 2000 and ’01, and following the long-lasting squad’s swap to the Indy Racing League, he gained the 2003 Indianapolis 500 forward of teammate Helio Castroneves who had gained the occasion for the earlier two years. De Ferran would go on to complete second in that yr’s IRL championship earlier than retiring with 12 U.S. open-wheel wins to his identify. He then served as sporting director for the BAR Honda Formulation 1 workforce.

Being a sensible businessman too, de Ferran arrange his personal sportscar workforce utilizing Acuras within the American Le Mans Sequence, made a comeback as a driver, and scored 5 wins and runner-up within the 2009 championship earlier than retiring once more – this time for good.

Janet Guthrie is most well-known for being the primary feminine driver to be entered within the Indy 500 and to qualify for and compete within the race. She began racing sportscars as an beginner in 1963 and completed first in school on the 12 Hours of Sebring in ’67 and ’70. She earned her pilot’s license at age 17 and labored as an aeronautical engineer earlier than turning to racing full-time in 1972.

In 1976 Guthrie entered the Indy 500 however did not qualify. Nevertheless, the next yr she made the sector and began 26th, however her automobile lasted simply 29 laps earlier than retiring with engine points. Then in ’78 she began 15th and completed ninth, regardless of a cracked wrist. That end result would stay one of the best Indy 500 end result by a lady till Danica Patrick completed fourth in 2005.

The next yr Guthrie would qualify 14th however a piston burnt out after simply three laps, and she or he would retire from U.S. open-wheel racing with a greatest end of fifth. She would additionally rating 5 top-10 finishes within the NASCAR Cup, one of the best of those being a sixth place at Bristol Motor Speedway in ’77.

Paul Web page joined the on-air employees of Indianapolis radio station WIBC-AM in 1968, as protégé of Sid Collins, the IMS Radio Community lead announcer and beloved “Voice of the 500” since 1952. Web page joined the “500” race day broadcast workforce in 1974 and took the place of lead announcer upon Collins’ dying in ’77. 

Web page turned “Voice of the 500” on radio till 1987, earlier than becoming a member of veteran drivers Bobby Unser and Sam Posey as lynchpin of the published workforce for the ABC TV community’s Indianapolis 500 protection and the CART Indy automobile collection. Web page lined hundreds of occasions for ABC and ESPN till 2012, then returned to the IMS Radio Community anchor place for 2014-15.

Janet Guthrie with the Wildcat in which she finished ninth at Indy in 1978, despite a fractured wrist.

Janet Guthrie with the Wildcat by which she completed ninth at Indy in 1978, regardless of a fractured wrist.

Photograph by: IMS LLC

Source link