Lunar Eclipse July 2020: Date, Timings, and How to Watch Live Stream

July 4 will mark the third lunar eclipse for 2020. People in certain regions will be able to witness penumbral lunar eclipse, also being referred to as a “buck moon” lunar eclipse. It also coincides with the US Independence Day that is good news for people residents because they are among the those who will get to witness this celestial phenomenon. The first lunar eclipse of 2020 was in January, followed closely by the second in June, rendering it the third lunar eclipse for the year. Unfortunately, people in India will never be able directly see the eclipse.

Lunar eclipse July 2020: What is really a penumbral lunar eclipse?

A penumbral lunar eclipse (upchaya chandra grahan in Hindi) is if the Earth blocks some of the Sun’s light from directly attaining the Moon and the outer area of the Earth’s shadow, called the ‘penumbra’, covers all or part of the Moon. This type of eclipse is harder to spot as the penumbra is fainter compared to the dark core of the Earth’s shadow called ‘umbra’. Because of this, a penumbral lunar eclipse may also be mistaken as the full Moon.

As per NASA, as there will be a full moon at 12:44am EDT on July 5 (10:14am IST on July 5) and could be the first full Moon of summer (US), the Algonquin tribes used to call this full Moon the Buck Moon.

When will the lunar eclipse occur?

As per data by TimeandDate, the lunar eclipse begins at 11:07pm EDT on July 4 (8:37am IST on July 5) and reach its peak at 12:29am EDT on July 5 (9:59am IST on July 5). It can last for 2 hours and 45 minutes after which it the lunar eclipse will end at 1:52am EDT on July 5 (11:22 am IST on July 5).

Who will be able to witness the lunar eclipse?

Unfortunately, this lunar eclipse of July 4-5 will never be visible in India. However, people in a lot of North America, South America, South/West Europe, much of Africa, Indian Ocean, Pacific, Antarctica, and Atlantic will have a way to witness it.

How to watch the July 2020 lunar eclipse?

The penumbral lunar eclipse, and other such celestial events are often streamed on popular YouTube channels including Slooh and the internet site Virtual Telescope. If you reside in one of the regions where this lunar eclipse will undoubtedly be visible, you ought to be able to watch it without any special equipment.


WWDC 2020 had a lot of exciting announcements from Apple, but which would be the best iOS 14 features for India? We discussed this on Orbital, our weekly technology podcast, which you yourself can subscribe to via Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, or RSS, down load the episode, or just hit the play button below.