Newgarden beats Dixon to pole, Sato crashes

Dixon, who hasn’t taken a lead because the 2017 Indy 500, was the very first chauffeur to split the 215 miles per hour average over two-lap certifying this afternoon, and at the time the three-time Texas Motor Speedway winner was more than 1mph clear of his nearby competitor.

However, with the last run of the session– automobiles certified in order of group entrant points from 2019–Newgarden provided a 215.796 and backed it up with a 215.685 to push ahead of the Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda chauffeur and claim pole.

Newgarden’s teammtes Simon Pagenaud and Will Power will line up 3rd and 6th, sandwiching the Andretti Autosport Hondas of Ryan Hunter-Reay– who got better from a shunt in practice– and Zach Veach.

Graham Rahal’s seventh location for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-Honda was some alleviation for the group which is now fast attempting to prepare a vehicle for Takuma Sato, who shunted at the start of his certifying run. Having appeared to miss his turn-in point, he encountered the old traction-aid surface area which does not operate in the extreme 122 deg track surface area heat, and his RLLR automobile looped into a spin, sustaining heavy damage to the #30 automobile. The 2017 Indy 500 winner left unaided.

Alexander Rossi made it 3 Andretti automobiles in the top 10, while Felix Rosenqvist was ninth in the 2nd Ganassi maker.

Completing the top 10 was AJ Foyt Racing-Chevrolet’s 45- year-old veteran Tony Kanaan who has actually two times won at TMS, while encouragingly for the Texas- based team, Charlie Kimball backed him up with 12 th

Alex Palou was leading novice for Dale Coyne Racing with Team Goh, nabbing 16 th however colleague Santino Ferrucci in the DCR with Vasser-Sullivan automobile did not make a certifying effort. Neither did Rinus VeeKay in the 2nd Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet, which was being fixed after a large shunt in practice.

The automobiles are now taken– they ran race downforce in certifying– prior to the Genesys 300 starts at 7pm regional (Central) time.

PName FTimeDiff FLEngineTeam
1Josef Newgarden24023–.– 1ChevyTeam Penske
2Scott Dixon24039 0.0228 1HondaChip Ganassi Racing
3Simon Pagenaud24051 0.0615 1ChevyTeam Penske
4Ryan Hunter-Reay24134 0.3205 2HondaAndretti Autosport
5Zach Veach24159 0.3952 2HondaAndretti Autosport
6Will Power24194 0.4067 2ChevyTeam Penske
7Graham Rahal24203 0.4185 2HondaRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
8Alexander Rossi24234 0.4613 1HondaAndretti Autosport
9Felix Rosenqvist24238 0.4906 2HondaChip Ganassi Racing
10Tony Kanaan24192 0.5298 2Chevy AJ Foyt Enterprises
11Marco Andretti24288 0.5748 1HondaAndretti Herta with Marco & & Curb-Agajanian
12Charlie Kimball24292 0.6686 2Chevy AJ Foyt Enterprises
13Ed Carpenter24326 0.6836 2ChevyEd Carpenter Racing
14Colton Herta24365 0.6877 2HondaAndretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport
15James Hinchcliffe24356 0.7091 1HondaAndretti Autosport
16Alex Palou24244 0.7318 2HondaDale Coyne Racing with Team Goh
17Marcus Ericsson24423 0.8387 1HondaChip Ganassi Racing
18Pato O’Ward24407 0.8449 1ChevyArrow McLaren SP
19Conor Daly24493 0.9808 2ChevyCarlin
20Oliver Askew24466 1.1171 2ChevyArrow McLaren SP
21Jack Harvey25150 2.3586 2HondaMeyer Shank Racing
22Santino FerrucciNo TimeHondaDale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan
23Takuma SatoNo TimeHondaRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
24Rinus VeeKayNo TimeChevyEd Carpenter Racing

Related video

Source link